The first in a series that will describe the many and varied new or hidden options of Facebook.
In recent weeks Facebook have released several updates to their platform, some are right on the home page like Top Stories and News Tickers while others are behind the scenes and often go unnoticed. Over the next few weeks I aim to outline the major changes and options that might not receive so much mainstream publicity.
Click the thumbnail to open a larger screen shot image. To find this page first select Account Settings from the drop-down menu at the top right hand corner, and then select Security on the left hand side. Or use this link https://www.facebook.com/settings?tab=security
Quite obvious and pretty common all over the web. You’ll be asked for this answer if you reset your password or try to carry out other security actions.
This forces Facebook to use a secure (click here for an earlier post that explains HTTPS) connection. Unfortunately as it’s an account setting you need to be logged in for it to take effect so you’ll probably have logged in over an unsecured connection, but it’s better than nothing. NOTE: This will break some Facebook applications that have been poorly written and you may be prompted to disable this setting. The choice is yours.
Facebook will send you an email whenever your Facebook account is accessed from a new computer or phone. This can help if you think someone else is accessing your account.
You’ll be prompted to enter a one-time security code each time you log in from a new computer, phone or device (also if you clear the cache). The security code will be sent as a text message so you’ll need to provide your mobile phone number. You can set your profile to not share your mobile number with anyone else if you like. This helps to reduce the changes of someone else being able to log onto your Facebook account.
Some Facebook Apps don’t support login security codes yet so this provides an additional password for such applications.
Pick five people you trust and can easily get in touch with. If you forget your Facebook password or lose your phone and have Login Approvals enabled, Facebook will send your trusted friends a security code each. You’ll need three of the five security codes to regain access to your Facebook account.
This works with Login Approvals to show a list of computers, phones and devices that you have approved for logging on to your Facebook account. You can remove devices from the list if you no longer use them.
Shows you details of all the places/devices that are currently logged on to your Facebook account including the logon time, approximate location, and device details like operating system and web browser.